International data transfers

2. Transfers towards a country outside the European Economic Area with an adequate level of protection

Any controller wishing to transfer personal data outside the EEA must first ensure that the country of destination offers an adequate level of protection. If the level of protection of the destination country can be considered adequate, the personal data may be transferred in the same manner as if they were transferred within the EEA.

The general principles of the GDPR (e.g. lawfulness of processing, compatibility of the communication of data to a third party with the initial processing activity, information to data subjects) must, in all circumstances, be observed.

The European Commission is authorised to decide that a country, a territory or one or more specified sectors within that third country, or an international organisation offers an adequate level of protection, and has done so for the following countries:

  •  Andorra;
  • Argentina;
  • Canada (only for commercial organisations subject to the Canadian « Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documentation Act »);
  •  the Faroe Islands;
  • Guernsey;
  • Israel;
  • Isle of Man;
  • apan (only for  personal information  handling  business  operators  subject  to  the  Japanese “Act  on  the  Protection  of Personal  Information”  as  complemented  by  the  “Supplementary  Rules  set”);
  • Jersey;
  • New Zealand;
  • Switzerland;
  • Uruguay.

Adequacy talks are also ongoing between the European Commission and South Korea.

Dernière mise à jour

Les transferts internationaux de données personnelles

2. Transferts vers un pays en dehors de l’Espace économique européen disposant d’un niveau de protection adéquat

Tout responsable de traitement qui souhaite exporter des données à caractère personnel hors de l’Espace économique européen doit d’abord se renseigner sur le niveau de protection adéquat du pays destinataire. En effet, lorsque le pays tiers est considéré comme offrant un niveau de protection adéquat, le transfert peut être effectué comme s’il s’agissait d’un transfert au sein de l’Espace économique européen.

ll faudra néanmoins toujours respecter les principes généraux du RGPD (respect notamment du principe de licéité, compatibilité de la communication avec le traitement d’origine, information des personnes concernées).

C’est à la Commission européenne qu’il revient de constater par voie de décision que le pays tiers, un territoire ou un ou plusieurs secteurs déterminés dans ce pays tiers, ou l'organisation internationale en question assure un niveau de protection adéquat.

La Commission européenne a reconnu le caractère adéquat du niveau de protection des pays suivants : 

  • l’Andorre;
  • l’Argentine;
  • le Canada (pour les traitements soumis à la loi canadienne « Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documentation Act »);
  • les îles Féroé;
  • Guernesey;
  • l’Israël;
  • l’île de Man;
  • Japon;
  • Jersey;
  • la Nouvelle-Zélande;
  • la Suisse;
  • l’Uruguay; et
  • les Etats-Unis d’Amérique (pour les sociétés certifiées par le « EU-U.S. Privacy Shield Framework »).

Des discussions sont en cours concernant une potentielle décision d’adéquation de la Corée du Sud.

Dernière mise à jour