3.1. Contractual clauses

Data exporters can use a series of appropriate safeguards enabling transfers to countries not offering an adequate level of protection. One of these safeguards is the possibility for controllers to offer adequate protection through a contract, which is binding for those who send the data and those who receive them, and which contains sufficient safeguards to protect the personal data.

3.1.1.       Standard data protection clauses

To help controllers, the European Commission has adopted standard contractual clauses (or “model contracts”) that are considered to offer sufficient safeguards in light of the applicable data protection rules.

The following standard data protection clauses may be used without an authorisation from the CNPD:

The controller or processor should always be able to present its standard data protection clauses when requested so by the CNPD (for example, in case of a control or audit).

More information:

 

3.1.2.       “Ad hoc” clauses

If controllers or processors do not use for the European Commission's standard contractual clauses, they can draft their own contractual clauses (“ad hoc” clauses) offering sufficient data protection safeguards. These clauses must be submitted to the CNPD in accordance with Article 46 (3) (a) of the GDPR. These clauses will subsequently have to be approved by the European Data Protection Board in accordance with Article 46 (4) of the GDPR through the consistency mechanism.

In accordance with Regulation n°7/2020 of 3 April 2020 of the National Data Protection Commission laying down the amount and payment terms of the fees within the framework of its powers of authorisation and consultation, each controller or processor established on the territory of Luxembourg, who submits contractual clauses to the CNPD for authorisation pursuant to Article 46 paragraph (3) letter a) of the GDPR, must pay a fee of 1.500 € to the CNPD.

More information:

Dernière mise à jour

3.1. Clauses contractuelles

Diverses possibilités s'offrent aux responsables de traitement ou sous-traitants qui souhaitent transférer des données personnelles vers un pays en dehors de l’Espace économique européen ne disposant pas d’un niveau de protection adéquat: parmi celles-ci, l'utilisation d’un des modèles de « contrats-type » de la Commission européenne ou l'utilisation de clauses contractuelles proposées par l'entreprise.

3.1.1.       Clauses types de protection des données

Afin d’aider les responsables de traitement, la Commission européenne met à leur disposition des modèles de « contrats-type » qui sont automatiquement considérés comme offrant des garanties suffisantes au regard de la réglementation en vigueur sur la protection des données.

Voici les modèles de contrats qui sont disponibles :

Depuis le 25 mai 2018, il n’est plus nécessaire de demander l’autorisation préalable de la CNPD. Toutefois, le responsable de traitement ou le sous-traitant doit toujours être en mesure de transmettre ces clauses à la CNPD si elle le demande (par exemple, en cas de contrôle ou d’audit).

3.1.2.       Clauses contractuelles « ad hoc »

Si le responsable de traitement n’opte pas pour un modèle de la Commission européenne, il peut néanmoins rédiger ses propres clauses contractuelles (clauses « ad hoc ») qui devront apporter des garanties suffisantes au regard de la protection des données. Ces clauses doivent conformément à l'article 46 paragraphe (3) lettre (a) du RGPD être autorisées par la CNPD, et soumises conformément à l'article 46 paragraphe (4) du RGPD au mécanisme de cohérence, c'est-à-dire que ces clauses devront être approuvées par l'EDPB.

Conformément au règlement N°7/2020 du 3 avril 2020 fixant le montant et les modalités de paiement des redevances dans le cadre de ses pouvoirs d’autorisation et de consultation de la CNPD, tout responsable du traitement ou sous-traitant, établi sur le territoire luxembourgeois, qui soumet pour autorisation des clauses contractuelles à la CNPD conformément à l'article 46, paragraphe 3, lettre a) du RGPD, doit verser une redevance d’un montant de 1.500 € à la CNPD.

Pour en savoir plus :

Dernière mise à jour