2. Rules on international data transfers as of 1 January 2021

The European Commission may decide that the personal data protection regime of the United Kingdom provides data protection safeguards which are "essentially equivalent" to those in the European Union, by way of a formal decision, a so-called “adequacy decision”, pursuant to Article 45 of the General Data Protection Regulation.

As underlined in its Political Declaration, the European Commission will use its best endeavours to conclude the assessment of the UK regime by the end of 2020 with a view to possibly adopting a decision if the United Kingdom meets the applicable conditions. The European Commission is currently conducting this assessment and has held a number of technical meetings with the United Kingdom to gather information in order to inform the process.

The steps that companies, public bodies and Luxembourg associations must take in order to continue to transfer personal data to the United Kingdom after 31 December 2020 will depend on whether or not the European Commission adopts an adequacy decision.

In any event, they should take the necessary steps to ensure the compliance of any personal data transfers to the United Kingdom with Union data protection law, irrespective of the scenario whereby an EU adequacy decision will be taken with regard to the United Kingdom. Compliance can be achieved by having appropriate safeguards in place as foreseen by the General Data Protection Regulation, as described in section 2.2 below.

More information:

2.1.    In case of an adequacy decision adopted by the European Commission

If the European Commission adopts an adequacy decision for the United Kingdom, this decision will allow personal data to flow freely between the United Kingdom and the European Economic Area. However, as stated by the European Commission, it is not certain whether such an agreement will be concluded and will enter into force at the end of the transition period.

In any case, these entities must continue to comply with the general principles of the General Data Protection Regulation and shall apply them when transferring personal data to the United Kingdom (e.g. the principle of lawfulness, the compatibility of the communication with the initial processing activity, information to the data subjects).

More information:

2.2.    In the absence of an adequacy decision adopted by the European Commission

In the absence of an adequacy decision by the European Commission, and as of 1 January 2021, the rules for transfers of personal data to third countries set out in Chapter V of the General Data Protection Regulation will apply to the transfers of personal data from a Member State of the European Union to the United Kingdom.

In order to continue to transfer personal data to the United Kingdom lawfully, the Luxembourg entities in question shall comply, as of 1 January 2021, with such provisions.

Luxembourg entities may rely on ‘appropriate guarantees’ as referred to in Article 46 of the General Data Protection Regulation in order to ensure a sufficient and appropriate level of protection for personal data transferred from Luxembourg to the United Kingdom, in the absence of or pending the adoption of a formal adequacy decision by the European Commission pursuant to Article 45 of the General Data Protection Regulation. The ‘appropriate guarantees’ may be:

  • contractual clauses (standard data protection clauses adopted by the European Commission or ‘ad hoc’ contractual clauses), or
  • binding corporate rules (BCRs), or
  • codes of conduct or certification mechanisms, or
  • legally binding and enforceable instruments between public authorities or bodies.

The use of such ‘appropriate guarantees’ shall be made in accordance with the ‘Schrems II’ judgement of the Court of Justice of the European Union. The European Data Protection Board (EDPB) recently published a document aiming at presenting answers to some frequently asked   questions (“FAQ”) received by supervisory authorities about this judgement.

The EDPB also published an information note on BCRs for the specific cases of groups of undertakings or enterprises which have the Information Commissioner’s Office (British Supervisory Authority) as BCR Lead Supervisory Authority.

The transfer may also be covered by one of the “exceptions” as set out in Article 49 of the General Data Protection Regulation. However, controllers should aim to implement appropriate safeguards and should only rely on the exceptions in the absence of appropriate safeguards. Indeed, Article 49 of the General Data Protection Regulation is subject to a strict interpretation by the data protection authorities to prevent the exceptions from becoming the rule.

In the absence of appropriate guarantees or where one of the exceptions cannot be used, the transfer of personal data to the United Kingdom will therefore be prohibited.

Since it is uncertain whether the European Commission will have adopted an adequacy decision by the end of December 2020, the CNPD recommends that the entities concerned should determine which of the ‘appropriate guarantees’ as referred to in Article 46 is best suited for their organisation and should ensure that the appropriate guarantees are in place by 31 December 2020.

 

More information:

Last update

2. Les règles applicables en matière de transferts internationaux de données à compter du 1er janvier 2021

La Commission européenne peut décider que le régime de protection des données personnelles au Royaume-Uni offre des garanties « essentiellement équivalentes » à celles de l’Union européenne, par le biais d’une décision formelle, appelée « décision d’adéquation », conformément à l’article 45 du règlement général sur la protection des données.

Comme souligné dans sa déclaration politique, la Commission européenne s’efforcera de finaliser son évaluation du régime britannique de protection des données d’ici la fin de 2020, en vue d’une possible décision d’adéquation si le Royaume-Uni rempli les conditions applicables. La Commission européenne conduit actuellement cette évaluation et a déjà tenu un certain nombre de réunions techniques avec le Royaume-Uni afin de rassembler les informations pertinentes.

Or, l’adoption ou non d’une telle décision d’adéquation aura un impact sur les démarches à accomplir par les entreprises, organismes publics et associations luxembourgeoises qui sont amenés à transférer des données à caractère personnel vers le Royaume-Uni à compter du 1er janvier 2021.

En tout état de cause, ils doivent prendre les mesures nécessaires afin de s’assurer du respect de tout transfert de données personnes vers le Royaume-Uni avec le droit de l’Union européenne, indépendamment d’une éventuelle décision d’adéquation de la Commission européenne. Un tel respect passe par le recours à l’une des garanties appropriées décrites à la section 2.2 ci-dessous.

Pour en savoir plus :

2.1.    En cas d’adoption d’une décision d’adéquation par la Commission européenne

C’est à la Commission européenne qu’il revient de constater par le biais d'une décision d'adéquation formelle que le Royaume-Uni assure un niveau de protection adéquat en matière de protection des données à caractère personnel, conformément à l’article 45 du règlement général sur la protection des données.

Si une telle décision d’adéquation était adoptée par la Commission européenne avant la fin de la période de transition, le transfert pourrait être effectué comme s’il s’agissait d’un transfert au sein de l’Espace économique européen. Toutefois, comme indiqué par la Commission européenne, il n’est pas certain qu’une telle décision d’adéquation puisse être conclue avant le 31 décembre 2020.

En tout état de cause, il faudra toujours respecter les principes généraux du règlement général sur la protection des données, et les garder en tête au moment de transférer des données au Royaume-Uni (respect entre autres du principe de licéité, compatibilité de la communication avec le traitement d’origine, information des personnes concernées).

Pour en savoir plus :

2.2.    En l’absence de décision d’adéquation adoptée par la Commission européenne

En l’absence d’une décision d'adéquation, et à compter du 1er janvier 2021, le chapitre V du règlement général sur la protection des données, qui concerne les transferts de données à caractère personnel vers des pays tiers ou à des organisations internationales, s’appliquera au transfert de données depuis un Etat membre de l’Union européenne vers le Royaume-Uni.

Ainsi, pour continuer à effectuer légalement des transferts de données personnelles vers le Royaume-Uni, les entités luxembourgeoises concernées devront respecter à compter du 1er janvier 2021 les dispositions légales du chapitre V du règlement général sur la protection des données.

Afin d’assurer un niveau de protection suffisant et approprié des données transférées du Luxembourg vers le Royaume-Uni, les organismes concernés peuvent recourir, en l’absence ou en l’attente d’une décision d’adéquation formelle prise par la Commission européenne conformément à l’article 45 du règlement général sur la protection des données, à des « garanties appropriées » telles que visées à l’article 46 du règlement général sur la protection des données, à savoir :

  • des clauses contractuelles (clauses types de protection des données adoptées par la Commission européenne ou clauses contractuelles dites « ad hoc »), ou
  • des règles d’entreprise contraignantes (BCR), ou
  • des codes de conduite ou des mécanismes de certification, ou
  • des garanties spécifiques pour le transfert entre autorités ou organismes publics.

Le recours à de telles “garanties appropriées” doit tenir compte du jugement ‘Schrems II’ de la Cour de Justice de l’Union européenne. Le Comité européen de la protection des données (CEPD ou European Data Protection Board, « EDPB » en anglais) a récemment publié un document visant à présenter des réponses à certaines questions fréquemment posées (« FAQ ») aux autorités de protection des données concernant ce jugement.

Le CEPD a également publié une note d’information sur les BCRs pour les cas spécifiques de groupes d’entreprise dont l’« Information Commissioner’s Office » (autorité de supervision britannique) agit comme autorité de contrôle principale.

Enfin, le transfert peut être réalisé sur base d’une des dérogations pour des situations particulières visées à l’article 49 du règlement général sur la protection des données. Les responsables de traitement doivent toutefois s’efforcer de mettre en place les garanties appropriées visées ci-dessus et ne doivent recourir à ces dérogations qu’en leur absence. En effet, l’article 49 du règlement général sur la protection des données fait l’objet d’une interprétation stricte par les autorités de protection des données, afin que l’exception ne devienne pas la règle.

En l’absence de garanties appropriées ou en l’absence de recours à une de ces dérogations, le transfert vers le Royaume-Uni sera donc interdit.

La CNPD recommande aux entités concernées, dans la mesure où il n’est pas certain qu’une décision d’adéquation sera adoptée par la Commission européenne d’ici la fin de l’année 2020, d’évaluer d’ores et déjà les « garanties appropriées » visées à l’article 46 précité, afin de déterminer laquelle conviendrait le mieux à leur situation et de veiller à ce qu’elle soit en place avant le 1er janvier 2021.

 

Pour en savoir plus :

Dernière mise à jour