VIS Supervision Coordination Group

The Visa Information System Supervision Coordination Group (VIS SCG) pursuant to article 43 of the VIS Regulation 767/2008/CE of 9 July 2008 was established in order to ensure a coordinated supervision of the VIS and the national systems.

Composition

The VIS SCG is made up of a representative of every Member State's data protection authority and the European Data Protection Supervisor (EDPS).

Tasks and duties

As established in the VIS Regulation (Regulation 2008/767/EC of 9 July 2008), the lawfulness of the processing of personal data by the Member States shall be monitored by the national Data Protection Authorities and the European Data Protection Supervisor (EDPS).

In Luxembourg, two different supervisory authorities are competent for the monitoring of the use of the VIS data. The CNPD is competent for supervising the processing of VIS data by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, the embassies and the consulates, whereas the “Article 17” supervisory authority is competent for supervising the processing of VIS data by the law enforcement authorities.

What is the Visa Information system (VIS)?

The Visa Information System (VIS) is a system for the exchange of visa data between Member States created by Council Decision 2004/512/EC of 8 June 2004 as completed by Regulation 2008/767/EC of 9 July 2008 (VIS Regulation).

As stated in Article 2 of the VIS Regulation, the purpose of the VIS is to facilitate the visa application procedure, prevent visa shopping and fraud, facilitate border checks as well as identity checks within the territory of the Member States and to contribute to the prevention of threats to the internal security of the Member States. To this end, the VIS provides a central repository of data on all short-stay Schengen visas. This data can be accessed by authorities issuing visas, e.g. consulates of Member States (Article 15), by checkpoints at the Schengen border to verify the identity of visa holders (Article 18), as well as for the purpose of identifying third-country nationals apprehended within the Schengen Area with fraudulent or without documents (Article 19).

The VIS Regulation sets out which data shall be included in the database at the various stages of processing a visa (application, issuing, discontinuation of examination, refusal, annulment/revocation, extension, Articles 9-14). Apart from data on the visa application (such as planned travel itinerary, inviting persons etc.) it also includes a photograph of the applicant and fingerprints (Article 9 (5) and (6)).

The architecture mirrors that of Eurodac and other large-scale IT systems: a central unit ('central VIS') managed by the European Agency for the operational management of large-scale IT systems in the area of freedom, security and justice3 ('eu-LISA') (Article 26) and connected to national units in the Member States using sTesta. Article 32 sets out a list of mandatory security measures for the national units to implement; the national implementation shall also provide for audit trails (Article 34) and possibilities for a self-audit (Article 34).

Right of access of data subjects to VIS Data

VIS data, processed by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, do not fall under article 17 of the Law of 2 August 2002 on the protection of individuals with regard to the processing of personal data.

Therefore, the common regime of the right of access pursuant to article 28 of the aforementionned Law is applicable. This article provides for direct access requiring the person concerned to apply directly to the Ministry of Foreign and European Affaires for access to its data.

The representatives of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in the VIS SCG

  • Mr Thierry LALLEMANG, member of the Article 17 supervisory authority, commissioner of the CNPD;
  • Ms Tine A. LARSEN, member of the Article 17 supervisory authority, chair of the CNPD.
Last update

Groupe de coordination de contrôle du VIS

Le groupe de coordination de contrôle du VIS (VIS SCG) est une plateforme permettant aux autorités de protection des données responsables du contrôle du système d'information sur les visas (VIS) de collaborer (conformément à l'article 43 du réglement VIS 2008/767/EC du 9 juillet 2008).

Composition

Le VIS SCG se compose d'un représentant des autorités de protection des données de chaque État Membre et du Contrôleur européen à la protection des données (CEPD). 

Missions

Conformément au réglement VIS (règlement 2008/767/EC du 9 juillet 2008), les autorités chargés de la protection des données dans les États membres et le CEPD contrôlent le traitement des données à caractère personnel dans le système d'information VIS (unité centrale) et leur transmission aux États Membres. 

Au Luxembourg, deux autorités différentes sont compétentes pour contrôler les données VIS. La CNPD contrôle les traitements de données par le Ministre des Affaires étrangères, les ambassades et les consulats, tandis que le groupe "Article 17" contrôle les traitements de données des services répressifs.

Présentation du système d'information sur les visas (VIS)

Le VIS est un système pour l'échange de Visas entre Etats membres, créé par la Décision 2004/512/CE du Conseil du 8 juin 2004 et complété par le Règlement (CE) nº 767/2008 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 9 juillet 2008 concernant le système d’information sur les visas et l’échange de données entre les États membres sur les visas de court séjour

Le VIS a pour objet de faciliter la procédure de demande de visa, de lutter contre la pratique du "visa shopping", de faciliter la lutte contre la fraude, de faciliter les contrôles aux points de passage aux frontières extérieures et sur le territoire des États membres et de contribuer à la prévention des menaces pesant sur la sécurité intérieure de l'un des États membres. A cet effet, le VIS fournit un répertoire central des données sur tous les visas Schengen de courte durée. Ces données peuvent être accédées par l'autorité compétente chargée des visas, p.ex. les consulats des Etats membres (Article 15), aux points de passage des frontières Schengen pour vérifier l'identité des détenteurs de visa (Article 18), ainsi que pour identifier des ressortissants de pays tiers appréhendés dans l'espace Schengen avec des documents frauduleux ou sans documents (Article 19).

Le règlement VIS prévoit quelles données seront incluses dans la base de données lors des diverses étapes du traitement d'un visa (demande, délivrance, arrêt de l'examen, refus, annulation/révocation, prolongation, articles 9-14). A part des données sur la demande de visa (comme l'itinéraire de voyage prévu, etc.), il comprend également une photographie du demandeur et ses empreintes digitales (article 9 (5) et (6)).

L'architecture reflète celle d'autres systèmes d'information à grande échelle comme Eurodac: une unité centrale ('central VIS') est gérée par Agence de l'Union européenne pour la gestion opérationnelle des systèmes d'information à grande échelle ('Eu -LISA') (article 26) et est reliée à des unités nationales dans les États membres en utilisant sTESTA. Article 32 énonce une liste de mesures de sécurité obligatoires à implémenter par les unités nationales; l'implémentation nationale doit également prévoir l'établissement de relevés (article 34) et des possibilités d'une auto-vérification (article 34).

Droit d'accès des personnes concernées aux données VIS

Les données VIS, traitées par le ministère de Affaires étrangères et européennes, ne relèvent pas de l'article 17 de la loi du 2 août 2002 sur la protection des données.

Par conséquent, le régime commun du droit d'accès conformément à l'article 28 de la loi précitée est applicable. Cet article prévoit un accès direct. La personne concernée peut ainsi faire une demande direct auprès du ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes pour accéder à ses données.

Les représentants du Grand Duché de Luxembourg dans le VIS SCG

  • Thierry LALLEMANG, membre de l'autorité de contrôle "Article 17", membre effectif de la CNPD;
  • Tine A. LARSEN, membre de l'autorité de contrôle "Article 17", présidente de la CNPD.
Dernière mise à jour